+ Team Tech3 are very pleased to announce the exciting, new project; 'Tech3 Classic'. For more information, follow the link > Tech3 classic
 Next Race >> Qatar >> Time Remaining >>

 Team Monster Yamaha Tech3

 Monster Yamaha Tech3 Team 2015


The French-based Monster Yamaha Tech3 Team is one of the most experienced teams competing in the MotoGP world championship, with its proud history dating as far back as 1989.

Located in Provence in southern France, the team was formed by Herve Poncharal and colleagues who began their Grand Prix adventure by contesting in the 250cc World Championship with Dominique Sarron. In 1993, Tech3 ran the American rider John Kocinski in the 250cc series, before signing emerging French talent Olivier Jacque, two years later.

It was to be a partnership that elevated Tech3 and Jacque’s profile to a new level. The French rider won a dramatic 250cc title in the season finale against team-mate Shinya Nakano at Phillip Island in 2000 – with the Tech3 team thrilling fans worldwide with one of the closest finishes to a title fight ever to occur in history.

A year later in 2001, Tech3 further enhanced its growing reputation by joining the MotoGP class, starting a long and successful collaboration with Yamaha in the premier series.

Nakano scored Tech3 it’s first MotoGP podium in Germany in 2001. Since then, some of the biggest talents in racing have successfully spent time riding for Tech3, including Norick Abe, Carlos Checa, Alex Barros, Marco Melandri, Colin Edwards, Ben Spies, Cal Crutchlow and Andrea Dovizioso.

Now an integral part of Yamaha’s hugely successful MotoGP effort, Tech3 has enjoyed tremendous success in recent years. Edwards scored four, top three finishes during his spell with Tech3. Whereas Spies enjoyed a fantastic rookie campaign in 2010, to claim a stunning debut MotoGP podium at Silverstone and a brilliant pole position and second place in his home race in Indianapolis.

Spies’ natural talent and the experience and dedication of the Monster Yamaha Tech3 Team ensured the Texan quickly earned a coveted seat in Yamaha’s Factory MotoGP squad for the 2011 World Championship campaign.

2012 was a superb year for Monster Yamaha Tech3 in the premier class. The team confirmed its status as the leading independent team in the coveted Team World Championship, having seen at least one rider on the podium in nearly 50% of the races in 2012.

Andrea Dovizioso asserted himself as the team’s most successful rider ever, scoring six podium finishes in the 2012 season. British rider Cal Crutchlow scored two podium finishes in his second season in the premier class, with both Monster Yamaha Tech3 Team riders emerged as constant top five challengers. 

2013 saw Cal Crutchlow joined at Monster Yamaha Tech3 Team by the exciting young talent of Tech3 Racing Team’s Moto2 rider Bradley Smith. Crutchlow produced two sensational pole positions and four podium finishes. The 2009 World Supersport rider finished 5th in the World Championship, and the leading satellite rider in the MotoGP class. Bradley Smith contested his successful rookie campaign with three top six finishes and 10th in the MotoGP World Championship. 2013 also saw Monster Yamaha Tech3 Team finish as the third team in the World Championship for the second year in a row. 

The 2014 season saw the Tech3 Team continue it’s long term and successful partnership with Yamaha and Monster Energy with the exciting line up of British rider Bradley Smith and the Spanish 2013 Moto2 World Champion, Pol Espargaro who entered his rookie season in the premier class. The year heralded some great results for the Tech3 Team, including Bradley Smith’s superb run to 3rd position in Australia and Espargaro’s consistently good form which saw him finish the season as the top satellite rider as well as the rookie of the year in 6th place in the overall standings. 

2015 will see both Espargaro and Smith continue with the Monster Yamaha Tech3 Team aboard the Yamaha YZR-M1 MotoGP bikes, where they will intend to clinch further top results and challenge as the leading satellite bikes. 


Monster Energy DewaltRealeSakuraStanleyBihrFacomMotulSemakin



1 Jorge LORENZO 330
2 Valentino ROSSI 325
3 Marc MARQUEZ 242
4 Dani PEDROSA 206
5 Andrea IANNONE 188
6 Bradley SMITH 181
7 Andrea DOVIZIOSO 162
10 Danilo PETRUCCI 113

Spain - Valencia

1 Jorge LORENZO  
2 Marc MARQUEZ  
3 Dani PEDROSA  
4 Valentino ROSSI  
5 Bradley SMITH  
7 Andrea DOVIZIOSO